Skip to main content

Banner Sponsors

Intercal Trading Group - Your mohair supplier
Tedsby - Handmade teddy bears and other cute stuffed animals. Hundreds of teddy artists from all over the world and thousands of OOAK creations.

nimbleknot Cupcake Bears
Austin, Texas
Website

Do y'all hand-stitch the body or machine?

Is there a certain size bear that you stop all machine stitching and do all hand?

I am doing about a 3 inch bear and its hard work doing those thousands of back stitches.

I want to go bigger, like 5 inches and wondered if that was still considered an "entirely hand-stitched" bear or would you actually do the bigger parts on the machine?

(can you tell I am new at this?)

toadbriar ToadBriar
western massachusetts

my biggest bear so far has been 15" tall - I'm usually working around the ~8-10" range.
I stitch them entirely by hand though, because the machine goes too fast for me for the
amount of precision I feel that I need. I make enough mistakes going hand-slow, ya know?

Plus then I can say "entirely hand sewn"  bear_cool lol

I've been making bears since Sept 2005.

Gail Bear With Me Enterprises
Website

Hi Jennifer ( love the name as it is also the name of my daughter )
I can sew anything larger than 8 inches and above on the sewing machine, anything smaller I do by hand but it really depends on how comfortable you are with the sewing machine. Some artists will also machine sew some parts of the bear and hand sew other parts- eg foot pads and gusset in head are hand sewn but rest is sewn by machine. Do whatever you are most comfortable with. Certainly using a machine makes the process that much quicker but there is no hard and fast rule
Hugs
Gail

tuppies teddies Tuppies Teddies
Lindenow, Central Gippsland

The only time I use the sewing machine is if my bears are going to be clothed.  All my bears are completely hand sewn..

jenny Three O'clock Bears
warwickshire uk
Website