Skip to main content

Banner Sponsors

No Monkey Biz - Domain name registration, hosting
Intercal Trading Group - Your mohair supplier

melissa Honeythorpe Bears
Wellington, New Zealand
Website

This is probably a dumb question because I'm sure the answer is yes... but do you think it's worth paying the 19.95 for the extra advertising on ebay?   I have never done it before - partly because most of my bears aren't selling and partly because of the exchange rate.  Do you think it will make a difference if I do?

Also...should I be altering the pricing structure on my bears - are they priced too high??  You can be honest and I won't take offence   bear_laugh

Densteds Densteds
Website

Hi Melissa,
I've listed a few of my bears in the featured section, it worked out costing me almost $40AU just to list and even though I had quite a lot of lookers, all the ebay sales I've made on my bears have been in an ordinary listing, I'm afraid it is just too expensive, and I won't be doing it again. I've seen people selling their bears and probably not even recouping their fees...let alone their mohair etc....which is just crazy. I usually make quite big bears but with the cost of a good quality mohair, joints, eyes, stuffing etc, and the outrageous ebay fees, it's hard to make a  profit from all the work you put into making them.
I don't know how much you put on your teddies, but there's not much use in making them to sell if you don't even recover your costs.
I know it's also a bit of advertising, so perhaps if you want to get your name out there, place a couple of bears in the featured section and use it as a little  campaign..as Gina said to me, it is cheaper advertising than buying a 1/4 page spread in a magazine.