Skip to main content

Banner Sponsors

Intercal Trading Group - Your mohair supplier
Tedsby - Handmade teddy bears and other cute stuffed animals. Hundreds of teddy artists from all over the world and thousands of OOAK creations.

Lizzie Allen, TX

So, my fiance was trying to be nice & picked up quite a bit of fabric for me. Unfortunately, it's that fake fur fabric that stretches like crazy, but he's sooo excited that he "helped" me that I cannot bring myself to inform him that it's gonna be hard to use.

Is there any possible way to "fix" it? I've been searching the forums & cannot find it, so I'm either dense or the answer isn't here. I think I read in 1 of my books that interfacing helps w/that problem, but I cannot for the life of me remember. I attempted to make a bear outta it last night (& I'm new to all of this anywayz, so it's all trial/error for me) & the arms are sooo huge from the stretch it's unreal. I realized I needed to ask for help & fast, so the fiance doesn't catch on to it!  :crackup:

Please help! :)

Thanks so much!
- Lizzie

beddytears Posts: 5

Hi Lizzie,

Yes, you can use it; some people use interfacing to stabilize it, others glue muslin or broadcloth on the back.  Try both and see which works best for you.  bear_original

bear hugs, Lee Ann

desertmountainbear desertmountainbear
Bloomsburg, PA

When I have used stretchy fabric I have used spray adhesive on the muslin pattern pieces I have cut and then attached it to the fur,  you can then cut out your fur.  Be careful not to use to much regular glue if you go that way, it can be hard to sew through.  Some people use glue stick.
Joanne

danceswithteddybears Dances With Teddy Bears
Pacific Northwest

stickyTTcropped.jpgHi Lizzie
My first faux bear came out way huge, too.  Chubby.  Fat's more like it.