Skip to main content

Banner Sponsors

Johnna's Mohair Store - Specializing in hand dyed mohair and alpaca
Past Time Bears - Artist bears designed and handcrafted by Sue Ann Holcomb

Kathleen Pa

hi,
I'm kinda new to bear making and I've noticed alot of you use markers or airbrush shading around the eyes of your bears and it really adds to their personality. I'd like to try it, but don't really know that much about it.  I found a site that sold copic markers with fine and broad tips.  They also sold a colorless blending pen you can use for mistakes.  Does this mean it will remove the marker from the mohair?  Do you shade before you insert the eyes?  Any tips would be greatly appreciated.  I would like to try it but I"m afraid I'm going to ruin the bear bear_cry

Thanks,
Kathleen

Gail Bear With Me Enterprises
Website

Hi Kathleen
The blending pen simply blends the colours it does not fix your mistakes. The problem with the copic markers if you use the aerosol can with them is that you do not have very much control. If you simply want to just shade with the markers then you will have more control. To practice you could pick up an old teddy at a garage sale and start out with it until you gain more confidence. If you really want to get into air brushing then I recommend Judi Paul's course which you can take online at www.kranbearys.com- Nancy Tillbergs site
Hugs
Gail

Jellybelly Bears Jellybelly Bears
Australia

Hi Kathleen