Skip to main content

Banner Sponsors

Johnna's Mohair Store - Specializing in hand dyed mohair and alpaca
Past Time Bears - Artist bears designed and handcrafted by Sue Ann Holcomb

Shelli SHELLI MAKES
Chico, California
Website

Shelli Retired Help Advisor, Banner Sponsor

Hi ladies.  I am getting on my soapbox here due to the huge interest in business naming I've seen on the boards these last few days.  Does it make me seem more modest if I first log the disclaimer that I am merely the MOUTHPIECE here...?  I have no training or background in marketing or branding, name choosing or business development.  But... and it's a bit but (and a big butt, too, but that's another thread)... when it came time for me to choose a business name and develop a brand, I had the great good fortune of best friend Andrea O'Neill of www.andreaoneill.com and www.transparency.com, whose training and occupation are entirely in the areas of design, marketing, branding, and business consulting.  She was a wonderful resource and I will try to paraphrase for you what her advice was to me, at the time I was contemplating these same huge, potentially make-or-break business decisions.

The entire idea here is to create what's called a BRAND IDENTITY for yourself; a cohesive and all-encompassing concept -- a mission, even -- that centers and describes your business.  It might sound silly to think about BRAND IDENTITY as applied to teddy bears, but I think you'll find that the most successful bear artists have either purposefully or accidentally created just such a BRAND IDENTITY for themselves.  Doesn't something IMMEDIATELY come to mind when you think of "Luxembears?"  A color scheme (blues, creams, browns, sparkles)... a "look" and feel (airbrushing, huge eyes, needle felting)... the person behind that name (kind, sweet, dancing, surrounded-by-cattle, Judi?)  That's a BRAND IDENTITY.  It's not just a teddy bear; it's an entire CONCEPT.