Skip to main content

Banner Sponsors

Johnna's Mohair Store - Specializing in hand dyed mohair and alpaca
Past Time Bears - Artist bears designed and handcrafted by Sue Ann Holcomb

Tina Remem-bear Artist Bears

Hi,

I feel like I should introduce myself again, it's been such a long time. My name is Tina, I have been making my bears since 1998 and I love it. I am 35 (!!), married to Stephen for 12 years and have two wonderful sons, Josh age 11 and Toby age 9. My bears tend to be either wacky (big noses and big feet), soppy looking (and as silly as I can make them) or antique style (I love old bears, but who doesn't, lol).

I find it hard to make the same style again and again, and so envy those who can, I go to the extremes, depending on my mood, lol. Is it a silly day, or am I being rather sensible today, you just never know bear_wacko

2006 was a very sad and difficult year. On Good Friday we were out for a family stroll and my mum slipped and snapped both bones in her ankle, and had to have one side pinned and the other side plated and was not allowed to walk for 6 weeks. As I make my bears from home, it was best if I cared for my mum as I live nearest.

Then my sister fell whilst at her horses and broke her wrist and she had to have it pinned.

In the summer my dad became ill with breathing problems, (he was recieving regular check ups from his doc because he had empesemia (sorry spelt wrong) and at the end of the summer was hospitalised with suspected TB, which, after tests turned out to not TB, but lung cancer which has spread to his back.  He was flown to Clatterbridge Cancer Hopsital where he had radiotheraphy. They said he was not strong enough to receive chemo. My mum was still very fragile after her fall (not a word I would have ever used for my mum, but she was then, though she has since made a wonderful recovery), so we took the car and went over on the ferry to the mainland with my mum.