Skip to main content

Banner Sponsors

Past Time Bears - Artist bears designed and handcrafted by Sue Ann Holcomb
Shelli Makes - Teddy bears & other cheerful things by Shelli Quinn

rkr4cds Creative Design Studio (RKR4CDS)
suburban Chicago

Duplicated from the Tips & Techniques Forum:

This used to happen a lot in my beginnings at needle felting.

And lastly it happened almost never...

I may have stayed too long without needle felting anything.

I am currently finishing to needle felt eyelids to a bear. This needle felted part is almost finished.
But I already broke 4 needles on it!!!!
I think one of them had a weak point, because it broke only after two pokes without any reason!

Needle felting onto mohair is not that easy, finally! i need to constantly be careful not to break more needles.

I may not be using the best needles though... i have no knowledge about the best way to choose neddles and in my local craft shop, they only have three sizes they call small, medium and large.
That makes me smile as it is much complex in real life according what I read in Bobbie's posts.
For sure, the day I want to go into more serious needle felting I wil ask Bobbie's advices and pray that I understand all technical explanations (in English, that's not easy!).

And what about you?
Do you often break needles?
I know some talented needle felters here almost never break some...

BUT I never poked seriously my fingers so far (well, never more than a tiny hole).
That's the advandage of needle felting over another material.

Beary hugs,
Sophie.

A bear for you:
A bear to make you smile
A bear you will hug endlessly

TY Shane, (and following another thread in mentioning your S'man shirt, I forgot to mention your svelte new mid-section!).

I rarely break a needle - it happened last week and it was the first in almost 2 years since the last broken one. I have gently straightened out needles after the bend - this one had been straightened too many times & finally snapped.