Skip to main content

Banner Sponsors

No Monkey Biz - Domain name registration, hosting
Intercal Trading Group - Your mohair supplier

lindag Posts: 8

I am brand new to the bear community and feel lucky to have found this chat.  I was wondering, am I the only person who had a problem with the URSA contest that was held by the Bears and Buds magazine?  I am not saying that the people who won didn't have nice entries, but honestly, it would take a blind person not to see that some of the entries that didn't even make the final cut were far superior to the overall winners.  I thought it would be such a fun contest because I could follow it online and live, but I was terribly disenchanted with the overall results.  As it turned out, this seemed to be a popularity contest for the individual artist and whoever had the time to campaign for votes are the ones who won.  I'm sure a lot of artists just don't have time to spend hours a day asking (begging) for votes, so this certainly didn't seem like a fair contest at all.  Sadly, the overall winners were the ones who got the most votes, and not the best pieces of work.  The way they ran this contest was just a thinly veiled promotion to steer as many people to their site as possible, not to pick an overall best work.  I've had so many of my bear friends feel the same way, but I don't see anyone talking about it.  It's so sad!  This seemed like nothing more than a cleverly disquised way to get all of us to promote their site instead of promoting the best work.   If  you look back at the entries, some of them were beautifully and professionally executed pieces of art and they didn't even make the final cut.  The whole thing has certainly left a bad taste in my mouth and that should never be when it comes to something as wonderful as teddy bears!  Maybe someone out there can explain it to me where it will make sense and my faith teddy bear people will be restored.

Dilu Posts: 8,574

While it is a contest,