Skip to main content

Banner Sponsors

Past Time Bears - Artist bears designed and handcrafted by Sue Ann Holcomb
Shelli Makes - Teddy bears & other cheerful things by Shelli Quinn

All Bear All Bear by Paula
Kent
Website

bear_flower Hello, as a self-taught bear maker, I haven't much experience with courses, so would be interested to know what you think about them please.  For example, what makes for a good course and what would you consider a fair price to pay?  What are the pros and cons?

All opinions gratefully received!

Thanks!  bear_original

teeeej Brisbane

I have done both online bear making courses and in person workshops. I work full time so I can't get to as many in person workshops as I would like to. Online workshops are good because I don't have to travel anywhere to do it and you can work at your own pace and in your own time. It also allowed me to do workshops with artists in other countries I would never get a chance to meet otherwise. A good course needs to have lots of pictures with clear explanations. They don't need to involve a whole bear either. Courses on certain techniques are great as well.

The cons of course are that you don't get the same personal interaction with the teacher or other students.

I have paid between $30 and $60 for online workshops depending on the length of time and difficulty of the project.

jenny Three O'clock Bears
warwickshire uk
Website

I did an Online course Paula. It was ok but i did mIss the hands on input. I think it ought to have an interactive aspect to it. Maybe Skype etc for it to work well. I would prefer a book if its just a case of reading and looking at photos.

dangerbears Dangerbears
Wisconsin
Website