Skip to main content

Banner Sponsors

Teddy Bear Academy - Online teddy bear making classes
Johnna's Mohair Store - Specializing in hand dyed mohair and alpaca

Churton M Posts: 43

Hello
I'm desperate for some advice from you wonderful fellow teddy bear makers. I'm quite new to teddy bear making (am on bear 6) but the one I am currently working on has been going really well until today :-(
I had stuffed my nose nice and firm and knew it was a good stuff as needed pliers to pull the needle through for the nose thread base layer; but then as I was trimming a little more fur around the nose before sewing my final top nose thread I noticed that the stitching on one side of the nose has burst very slightly!
I'm totally gutted as I did double stitching; I have no spare fur as it was a vintage crushed mohair I had come across at an antique fair and I only just had enough to make the bear. Does anyone have any suggestions as to how I can repair it without taking the whole head apart? I could literally cry as this was looking like being a really nice bear :-(
I can add pics if need be
Karen

dangerbears Dangerbears
Wisconsin
Website

I would un-stuff the head, turn it wrong-side-out again, and re-stitch/reinforce the seams. You could then try some fray-check to strengthen the seam allowance.

If that doesn't do it, I'd move on to the next head. The combination of fabric and seam needs to be strong enough to handle a firmly stuffed nose, I'd say.

Becky

edmondnutmeg Padfield bears
Derbyshire
Website