Skip to main content

Banner Sponsors

Shelli Makes - Teddy bears & other cheerful things by Shelli Quinn
No Monkey Biz - Domain name registration, hosting

Deb Upstate New York

for my hubby's 50th surprise birthday celebration.  I'm whisking him away to NYC for a weekend for dinner and a show.  Our kids are going, and his sister and her husband, and my hubby's college roommate and his wife.  Eight in all.

Dinner and hotel were easy, but oh my ... choosing a show that you think 8 people will enjoy is a little stressful.  For every show I looked at there are both good and bad reviews, by viewers and critics alike.  So I just flipped a coin in the end.

Dinner - http://www.tonysdinapoli.com/
Show - http://www.martinshortthemusical.com/
Hotel - http://www.doubletree.com/en/dt/hotels/ … cn=EWRWTDT

Jersey people ... I've never done this before (taken the subway from Jersey City to Manhattan) ... but I understand it's very easy and inexpensive.  Hotels in Manhattan were at LEAST twice the price of the rooms I got, and since I was paying for four, I went for this option.  Any experience with this?  We also have one member who will have recently had foot surgery and will have a wheel chair.  I'm not too nervous about it ... I hear that more subway stations all the time are adding elevators and wheelchair accessability.

So glad that planning is done!  Now all I have to do is pack and go!

Can't wait. 

bear_wub  NY

Dilu Posts: 8,574

Oh Deb,

What a wonderful surprise!  I hope everyone has a grand time, especially your hubby!

c035.gif

Bearalive Bearalive
S.California
Website

Hi Deb.
What  a wonderful "B" day celebration!!
:cake:  I can't help about the information you need but, I am sure that they do have easy acess that people with disabilities can use, They are everywhere these days and belive me I am very happy about it! Some times I have to use a wheelchair.
Have lots of fun and tell us all about it.
Bear hugs.
Gladys bear_flower

SueAnn Past Time Bears